top of page

Your Elected Federal Officials

Scroll below to find out who represents you and what they do.



The Constitution of the United States dedicates its first, and longest, article to Congress. The role of Congress is to generate and repeal federal laws. 

Congress is made of two groups called chambers: the Senate and the House of Representatives. 

Each state sends two senators to Congress. Hence, the Senate has 100 senators who serve for terms of six years.


The number of house members varies according to state population, and the number of House members for each state is determined by the United States census every 10 years. In total, there are 435 voting members of the House who serve for two-year terms. 

Laws must be voted on and approved by both chambers before they go to the president's desk to be signed into law.

Bill Johnson.jpeg

Bill Johnson

Congress. District 6


Emelia Sykes.jpeg

Emilia Sykes

Congress. District 13



J.D. Vance



Sherrod Brown.jpeg

Sherrod Brown




The President shoulds many duties. He is: Chief executive, commander in chief of the military, chief of state, chief of party, chief diplomat, guardian of the economy, and legislative chaperone.


The president and vice president can serve for ​a maximum of two four-year terms. Unlike in Ohio, where other executive leaders must run for office individually, the president appoints all federal offices.

Because the federal executive branch has grown so complex since the founding of our nation, for simplicity, the other names to know are presented in a list format.

Joe Biden.webp

Joe Biden



Kamala Harris.webp

Kamala Harris

Vice President


The President's Cabinet
Secretary of State: Anthony Blinken
Secretary of the Treasury: Janet Yellen
Secretary of Defense: Lloyd J. Austin III

Attorney General: Merrick Garland
Secretary of Homeland Security: Alejandro Mayorkas
Secretary of the Interior: Deb Haaland
Secretary of Agriculture: Thomas J. Vilsack
Secretary of Health and Human Services: Xavier Becerra
Secretary of Commerce: Gina Raimondo
Secretary of Labor: Martin J. Walsh
Secretary of Housing and Urban Development: Marcia Fudge
Secretary of Transportation: Pete Buttigieg
Secretary of Energy: Jennifer Granholm
Secretary of Veterans Affairs: Denis Richard McDonough
Secretary of Education: Miguel Cardona



The Supreme Court of the United States, or SCOTUS, is the highest court in the land; no human authority is higher than it when it comes to constitutional interpretation.

Cases are brought to the Supreme Court largely through the process of appeals. Cases are appealed when petitioners feel that there is something wrong with the way a case was handled or with the law itself, and they want a higher court to rule. This process starts at local courts and--if you're extremely lucky--the Supreme Court will agree to hear your case.

Judges on the Supreme Court are called justices. They are appointed by the president for indefinite terms. In other words, once they join the Supreme Court, they stay there until they retire, die, or are impeached and removed from office for corrupt behavior.

The Supreme Court of the United States

Top left to right: Amy Coney Barrett, Neil Gorsuch, Brett Kavanagh, Ketanji Brown Jackson

Bottom left to right: Sonia Sotomayor, Clarence Thomas, John G. Roberts, Samuel Alito, Elena Kagan

Chief Justice: John G. Roberts, Jr., 2005, Conservative

Associate Justice: Clarence Thomas, 1991, Conservative

Associate Justice: Samuel Alito, 2006, Conservative

Associate Justice: Sonia Sotomayor, 2009, Liberal

Associate Justice: Elena Kagan, 2020, Liberal

Associate Justice: Neil Gorsuch, 2017, Conservative

Associate Justice: Brett Kavanaugh, 2018, Conservative

Associate Justice: Amy Coney Barrett, 2020, Conservative

Associate Justice: Ketanji Brown Jackson, 2022, Liberal

bottom of page