top of page
Ohio Statehouse_edited_edited_edited.jpg

Your Elected State Officials

Scroll below to find out who represents you and what they do.

Bill Roemer_edited.jpg

Bill Roemer

Ohio House District 38


Scott Oelslager_edited.jpg

Scott Oelslager

Ohio House District 48


Jim Thomas_edited.jpg

Jim Thomas

Ohio House District 49


Brett Hillyer.jpeg

Brett Hillyer

Ohio House District 51


Reggie Stoltzfus_edited.jpg

Reggie Stoltzfus

Ohio House District 50


Kirk Schuring Senate_edited.jpg

Kirk Schuring

Ohio Senate District 29



The Ohio Legislative branch proposes and passes state-specific laws at the Ohio Statehouse in Columbus, Ohio.

Like Congress in Washington D.C., the Statehouse consists of two chambers: the Ohio House and the Ohio Senate. Both chambers together are called the Ohio General Assembly, or the Ohio G.A., for short.

Ohio House members serve a maximum of four two-year terms. Ohio Senators serve a maximum of two four-year terms.

Each lawmaker presides over a district in Ohio. There are 33 Ohio Senate districts and three Ohio House districts within each Ohio Senate District. In total, the Ohio legislature consists of 33 senators and 99 House members.



Mike DeWine




Dave Yost

Ohio Attorney General



Jon Husted

Lieutenant Governor


Robert Sprague_Facing right_edited.jpg

Robert Sprague

State Treasurer


Frank LaRose_edited.jpg

Frank LaRose

Ohio Secretary of State


Keith Faber Ohio Auditor_edited.png

Keith Faber

State Auditor


All Ohio executive officers serve a maximum of two four-year terms.

The governor serves a maximum of two four-year terms. He or she proposes the state budget, appoints state department directors and members of boards and commissions (except for the state school board, whose members are elected) signs into law or vetoes bills passed by the Ohio General Assembly.

The lieutenant governor is like the vice president to the governor.

The attorney general is the lawyer for Ohio and its government departments.

The auditor makes sure Ohio's finances and spending are efficient and responsible.

The secretary of state runs oversees elections, grants business certifications, and provides the public access to government records.

The state treasurer is Ohio's banker. He or she accounts for the state's money.


The Ohio Supreme Court is the highest court in the state. Most cases arise from appeals from the 12 district courts of appeals in Ohio.


Unlike the United States Supreme Court, Ohio Supreme Court justices must be re-elected after their six-year terms. They have no term limits, but they cannot run if they are over 70 years old.

The Supreme Court hears cases concerning the Ohio and United States Constitutions, cases originating in the courts of appeals, and cases in which there have been conflicting opinions on the same question from two or more courts of appeals.


The Supreme Court, which is made up of the chief justice and six justices, hears all cases in which the death penalty has been imposed unless waived by the prisoner.

Stark County falls within the Fifth Ohio Court of Appeals District

Appeals courts are intermediary courts between the Ohio Supreme Court and common pleas, county, and municipal courts. You can find a list of Stark county Judges here [link].

Maureen OConnor.jpeg

Maureen O'Connor

Chief Justice of Ohio


Pat DeWine.jpeg

Pat DeWine

Supreme Court Justice


Melody Stewart_edited.jpg

Melody Stewart

Supreme Court Justice


Sharon Kennedy_edited.jpg

Sharon Kennedy

Supreme Court Justice


Michael Donnelly _edited.jpg

Michael Donnelly

Supreme Court Justice


Pat Fischer_edited.jpg

Pat Fischer

Supreme Court Justice


Jennifer Brunner.jpeg

Jennifer Brunner

Supreme Court Justice


bottom of page